Hong Kong Style Beef Tendon Stew 本場香港風牛筋の煮込み

May 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

Is there any HongKongers who live oversea ever miss the Hong Kong style beef tendon stew (牛筋,牛腩)?  Well, I really do!!  I’ve been looking for beef tendon after I came to the States, I couldn’t find it anywhere else until I visited a Korean Supermarket!!  I know this is a dish requires long hour cooking, it really is, but tendon dishes in restaurants that I’ve tried so far disappointed me, they always either too tough (cooking not long enough) or taste like rubber.  I really miss the beef tendon that absorbs all the soup’s flavor and soft enough to melt in my mouth, so I think it’s time for me to make my own beef tendon!  I have tried a few versions that developed by myself but this one taste most alike to what I was having in Hong Kong!  And by the way, tendon is basically  a big piece of collagen, so the more you eat the more beautiful you will become (this is the way how my mum encourage us to eat! haha!).

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds – Beef tendon;
  • 1 pound – Beef for stew, cut into large pieces;
  • 1 – Japanese white radish, cut 1 inch crosswise, halved;
  • 1 – Onion, sliced;
  • 2 cups – Cooking Sake;
  • 1/3 cup – Soy sauce, less sodium if possible;
  • 1/3 cup – Dark soy sauce;
  • 4 tablespoons – Sugar;
  • 4 tablespoons – Chili Bean Paste (medium spicy);
  • Other spices, put into a filter bag for tea (please look at the picture):
    • 1 tablespoon – Black peppercorn;
    • 1/2 tablespoon – Sichuan peppercorn;
    • 1 teaspoon – Celery seed;
    • 1 tablespoon – Chili flake.

Heat a 6-quant large stockpot with 2 tablespoon of vegetable oil, add onion and saute for a minute, add beef tendon, the whole pieces, cause it’s so much easier to cut after it’s cooked.  Add cooking sake when the pot is hot again, let the alcohol evaporates for a couple of minutes, add water enough to cover everything and add every other seasonings.  Bring it to a boil and let it cook on a medium heat for 30 minutes, turn off heat, cover, it’s important not to open it in 1 hour.  After 1 hour, cut tendon in small pieces with a kitchen scissors, bring it to a boil, add beef, cook for another 30 minutes, turn off heat, cover and let it sit for 1 hour.  Turn on the heat again after 1 hour, add white radish, cook for another 30 minutes, and again turn off heat, cover and wait for another hour.  Then cook for 30 more minutes on medium heat, serve hot on noodles or rice!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Hong Kong Style Beef Tendon Stew 本場香港風牛筋の煮込み

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hong Kong Style Beef Tendon Stew 本場香港風牛筋の煮込み at Sparkles Kitchen.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

